STREFOWA – Strategies to Reduce and Manage Food Waste in CE

STREFOWA – Strategies to Reduce and Manage Food Waste in CE

Throwing away food has a negative impact on many levels: most obvious are the social-ethical factors (to throw away food, that other people would like to eat), as well as the economic consequences (people paid for this food). But also environmental consequences cannot be underestimated (e.g. the CO2 emissions caused the improper discarding). Together we will improve food waste prevention and management in selected cities in Central Europe to make our cities better places to live for all people.

Partners from five Central European countries join their forces to improve environmental management in urban areas by focusing on food waste prevention and management.

There are many existing initiatives in Western and Northern Europe but the information is available either in English or is localized; and there is no overview. Food waste prevention in Central Europe is not implemented in a comparable range as in these countries yet.

  • We will focus on Central Europe (common cultural and culinary roots)
  • We will collect all localized and tailor-made information relevant for our region.

Concretely we will bring:

  • Best practices, strategies and action plans
  • Pilot activities to assess reduction strategies
  • Trainings for all sectors
  • An online tool compiling all information in one place
  • Food Waste Hackathons

In the Czech Republic we will focus on:

  • Pilot activities in schools and their canteens
  • Food Waste Hackathon in April 2017
  • Pilot activities in food donations and re-using
  • You can find out more on our website:

Who funds us

Our project is funded by the Interreg CENTRAL EUROPE Programme that encourages cooperation on shared challenges in central Europe. With 246 million Euro of funding from the European Regional Development Fund, the programme supports institutions to work together beyond borders to improve cities and regions in Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.